Halloween Treats (i.e. short stories) and a Seasonal Discount

Spent last weekend slinging books and kissing babies at Rock and Shock 2015. And while I had a great time hanging out with buddy Matt Serafini, I don’t talk about that experience here. If you want to hear about it head over to my Cemetery Dance Online column.

Just stopping in to offer three quick updates for your Halloween season.

I’ve had not one but two short stories drop this month.

sp 7

The first was in UK ‘zine Splatterpunk. If you’re frightened off by the name and cover of the magazine (which I love, but it is brutal): you shouldn’t be, because there’s nary a drop of  blood to be found in my satirical ghost story “Readings Off the Charts”. It’s a little more sarcastic than my fiction usually goes, so I think I have the punk part of splatterpunk squared for the issue. That’s available to order direct from the publisher and even if you live in the US it’s still a bargain and ships quickly. Also features Krist Rufty, Jeff Strand and Garret Cook. Each story’s illustrated and mine is handled by the wonderful Jim Agplaza.

dark hallows

I’m also overjoyed to announce that I’m a part of Dark Hallows: 10 Halloween Haunts, a collection featuring Richard Chizmar, Brian James Freeman, Norman Partridge, Ronald Malfi, Lisa Morton, and others. It’s also fully illustrated by my friend Aaron Dries (and features a story by him, too!). That’s available in paperback and ebook right now and is a pretty good way to celebrate the season. Thanks to editor Mark Parker for including my story “Starting Early”, which is original to this collection (as are all but one of the stories, I believe).

Mercy-House_Cesare-768x1024

Lastly, but not leastly, my new novel Mercy House has been selected to be a part of Barnes & Noble’s Halloween Horror Sale. Grab that for your Nook right now while it’s cheap ($2) and tell your friends to do the same. If you don’t have a Nook, then that’s okay because the sale price is available on all other digital platforms. Thanks to B&N and publisher Random House Hydra for hooking that up.

Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

